Job Jackets locking

To avoid having two people attempt to edit a Resource at the same time, QuarkXPress locks shared Job Jackets files under the following circumstances:

  • When the user of a project that shares a Job Jackets file displays the Edit Job Ticket dialog box (File > Job Jackets > Modify Job Ticket), QuarkXPress locks that Job Jackets file.
  • When a user displays the Job Jackets Manager dialog box (Utilities menu), QuarkXPress locks all Job Jackets files displayed in the Job Jackets Manager dialog box.
  • When the user of a project that shares a Job Jackets file creates, duplicates, edits, or deletes a Resource that is in the shared Job Jackets file, QuarkXPress locks the Job Jackets file. For example, if Tara is working in a project that shares the “Product List” Job Jackets file, and she chooses Edit > Colors and starts to modify a color that is in the project’s Job Ticket, QuarkXPress locks all shared Resources in the “Product List” Job Jackets file so that only Tara can modify them.

When a Job Jackets file is locked:

  • You cannot create a project from a Job Ticket template in that Job Jackets file.
  • You cannot link a project to the Job Jackets file.
  • You cannot display the Edit Job Ticket dialog box (File > Job Jackets > Modify Job Ticket) for a project that shares the Job Jackets file.
  • You can display the Job Jackets Manager dialog box (Utilities menu), but you cannot edit the locked Job Jackets file or any of its Job Tickets.
  • You cannot edit a shared Resource in the Job Jackets file. For example, if Tara has locked the “Product List” Job Jackets file, and Samuel chooses Edit > Colors and tries to modify a color that is in the project’s Job Ticket, the color is dimmed and unavailable until Tara unlocks the Job Jackets file.
  • You cannot add a layout or change the name of an existing layout in a project that shares the Job Jackets file.
  • You cannot edit a rule from the Layout Evaluation dialog box (File > Job Jackets > Evaluate Layout).

A locked Job Jackets file becomes unlocked at the following points:

  • When the user with the lock closes the Edit Job Ticket dialog box.
  • When the user with the lock closes the Job Jackets Manager dialog box.
  • When the user with the lock finishes editing a Resource that is in the shared Job Jackets file. Using the example above, this would be when Tara clicks Save or Cancel in the Colors dialog box after changing the shared color.
Note: Because of Job Jackets locking, it is important to display Edit Job Ticket and the Job Jackets Manager dialog boxes only when necessary, and to close them as soon as you’ve completed any work you need to do with them.
Note: If you display the Job Jackets Manager dialog box (Utilities menu) and find that you cannot edit the Job Jackets file associated with your project, that Job Jackets file is probably locked by another user.

Parent topic: Job Jackets

Job Jackets locking